No Work for me today

We didn’t do any work on the house today because we decided that we were going to go to town…that didn’t happen.  My aunt called this morning and asked us to meet them for breakfast and then I was going to her house to bake cookies for the youth group bake sale.  We both went up there and took showers, baked cookies, DH visited with my uncle who has just had his knee replaced and is semi bed ridden and then we helped my aunt feed the horses and move some rocks in the garden.

Last night, after we had finished the beams (all three are up now) we were on the way to town and the mountains looked gorgeous.  DH took this picture on the way in to town.  You can see that the truck was moving because the grass is blurry, but it looked pretty

Sun tipped Sangre's

because the sun was setting and was shining just on the tips of the mountains.

I know I keep posting progress shots of the house, and it really doesn’t look like we have made any, but we have floor beams…three of them:

I know you only see two in this picture, but the two you see are 63 feet long and had to be cut in half to be able to put them up.  DH and my cousin did the closest one, but DH and I did the furthest one yesterday.  We have one post to set, but it is pretty much up and is very steady.

Finally, for today, I followed a link on Plurk to Karen’s blog and found out that she had given me a Beautiful Blogger award and the rules are simple…If I am doing this correctly I have to list 10 little known facts about myself & then nominate 10 people so here goes:

Facts most people don’t know about me:

1.  I love garnets..so much so that it’s the main stone in my engagement ring.

2.  I drive a 15 year old pick up truck.

3.  I like to yak or reprimand potty mouths on the CB radio.

4.  I have a pink hammer.

5.  I used to do Civil War living history and reenactments.

6.  I lust after a newer Ford F-350 pick up truck.

7.  We are going to own Yaks when we are finally done building our house (at least that’s the plan)

8.  I met my current husband, the love of my life, at a civil war encampment.

9.  I am mildly lactose intolerant.

10.  I was raised for my teen years in Mesa Verde and Yellowstone National parks.

Now to nominate 10 blogs that I find beautiful for whatever reason:

Sheri from the Loopy Ewe, My favorite yarn pusher

Mia because I love her photos

Anne because it’s Anne Hanson of Knitspot

Jo of Celtic Memory Yarns for her wit and pictures of Ireland

Annie because she tells it like she sees it, and she inspires me

Ree from the Pioneer Woman because really, it’s THE Pioneer Woman

Lydia because she is amazing and I learn a lot from her

Wendy because I want to be as talented as she is when I grow up

Stephanie because anyone that can admit to being a harlot is ok in my book

and for number 10, I am a slug because I can’t come up with another one

I hope that all those people will see that they have been nominated and will see that I really do admire their blogs.

That’s all for tonight because I need to go back to the truck to get ready leave for Estes Wool Market tomorrow and to see a bunch of my friends.

Leave a Reply

