Secret pal Twelve

I guess I am a joiner.  I joined Sock Madness, I joined Sock Knitters Pentathlon, and now I have gone and joined Secret Pal Twelve.  I guess I am an optimist, considering the angst and all that was caused during the last round of Secret Pal.  I realize that things happen in everyone’s life and I should just go ahead with the fun that I have doing the swaps and not let a little miscommunication get in the way of enjoying this again.  Things worked out satisfactorily and I am willing to go at it again.

In that vein, here is the posting of my questionnaire for the swap:

1. What is/are your favorite yarn/s to knit with? What fibers do you absolutely *not* like? I love natural fibers, although I will knit with soft acrylic if its for baby knitting or some such. Cotton has it’s place, and I use it for dishrags and the like.

2. What do you use to store your needles/hooks in? I store my dpns and short needles in a needle case, my circs in their original packages, and my options in the binder book.

3. How long have you been knitting & how did you learn? Would you consider your skill level to be beginner, intermediate or advanced? I have been knitting off and on since 7th grade, about 30 years. I consider myself to have an intermediate skill level, but I’m not afraid to try most things.

4. Do you have an Amazon or other online wish list? I do have an amazon wishlist and a loopy ewe wish list. Both can be given if requested.

5. What’s your favorite scent? I am partial to clean scents. Love citrusy and vanilla with herbal.

6. Do you have a sweet tooth? Favorite candy? I like dark chocolate, and gummi bears.

7. What other crafts or Do-It-Yourself things do you like to do? Do you spin? I have been known to sew, although it’s really tough on the truck. I love to spin, and do it with a drop spindle on the truck, although I will have another wheel when we get our house built.

8. What kind of music do you like? Can your computer/stereo play MP3s? (if your buddy wants to make you a CD) I like most music that is not beat your head against the wall stuff. I’m partial to country, western (yes there is a difference), celtic, old soft rock.

9. What’s your favorite color(s)? Any colors you just can’t stand? I would say that I like the earthy colors more than any. I don’t do orange, and most yellows are off limits. I also don’t do the shocking colors. I don’t want to be seen from outer space.

10. What is your family situation? Do you have any pets? I am happily married with one son that still lives at home. We have, and I’m borrowing this description, a Jack Russell Terrorist that lives on the truck with us.

11. Do you wear scarves, hats, mittens or ponchos? I wear scarves, hats and mittens as the weather dictates…I have never found a poncho that I like or that looks good on me. I just don’t like them.

12. What is/are your favorite item/s to knit? I most often identify myself as a sock knitter, but I do like to knit other things in rotation.

13. What are you knitting right now? Right now I have a couple of baby sweaters, a tank, a couple of pairs of socks, a pair of fingerless mitts, and a scarf on the needles. I don’t do knitting monogamy.

14. Do you like to receive handmade gifts? Sure…what’s not to like in handmade gifts.

15. Do you prefer straight or circular needles? Bamboo, aluminum, plastic? I tend to use circulars for just about everything, although I have dpn’s that I use some. I use mostly stainless circs, although I do own some aluminum.

16. Do you own a yarn winder and/or swift? I own both

17. How old is your oldest UFO? A scarf for my DS that is about a year old

18. What is your favorite holiday? My birthday

19. Is there anything that you collect? My husband would say that I collect yarn, because I have stash, but it’s mostly sock yarn and that doesn’t count. I do collect yellow ware bowl, ironstone crockery, red wing crocks, and cast iron.

20. Any books, yarns, needles or patterns out there you are dying to get your hands on? What knitting magazine subscriptions do you have? I would love to have “More Big Girl Knits” and a couple of other books, but they are on my wish list.

21. Are there any new techniques you’d like to learn? Color work

22. Are you a sock knitter? What are your foot measurements? I am a sock knitter and I wear a size 8 wide…I need a little more room in the ankles and the arch.

23. When is your birthday? July 8th

24. Are you on Ravelry? If so, what’s your ID? I am on Ravelry as lyndahitt…how original, huh?

I also promised in the last post the I would show you what I got from the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival.  We ended up going to the festival and both Saturday and Sunday.  On Saturday we weren’t able to get there until about 1:30 in the afternoon because the van we borrowed broke down when we stopped for breakfast.  We ended up renting a car for the weekend so that we could get back and forth.  It worked out well for us, and was infinitely more comfortable for playing taxi than my sister’s van would have been.

On Saturday, I ran into my room mate from the Loopy Ewe’s Spring Fling. (Hi, Sara) I knew that she was going to be there, but I had forgotten.  It was kind of cool…I was walking down the road and I heard her talking to her daughter.  I turned around and there she was.  I ran into my Spring Fling swap partner (Hi, Sharon) as well, but she was getting ready to leave as we were getting there, so I didn’t get to see much of her.

We tried really hard to see the festival in an organized way, but there was just so much to see that it was difficult.  One of the booths that I was particularly interested in visiting was the Brooks Farms booth…I got to go there and got this yummy goodness: and this… and maybe this  .

For some reason, I love their yarns.  The colors are wonderfully saturated and they used some great colors together.

I didn’t buy a whole lot of yarn or anything on Saturday as I had done such damage at the Loopy Ewe during the Spring fling and didn’t feel like there was a whole lot that I wanted.  I got drawn in to look at the wall of STR, and didn’t find anything that called out my name.  There wasn’t much of the Raven series left when I finally got there, and I think that is pretty much what I want from them in a couple of colors.  I did get some yarn from Wullenstudio that is soft and squishy and in earthly tones for something:  I thought this kind of looked like caramel and milk chocolate and I decided that I wanted it, so I bought it.

One thing that I did not get to do that I had planned on, was going to the Ravelry meet up at the festival.  On Saturday we got there after it had ended and on Sunday I completely forgot about it.  I did go to the Ravelry party on Saturday night and had a good time.  I got to see Aimee (funfairiegirl), who I had met at the Loopy Ewe Spring Fling and adored.  She was so much fun and one of the people that I hung out with the most at the retreat.  To see her again was so wonderfully cool.  I got to the party a little early, and found that Aimee had be unable to pick up Sara, so DH and I went and got her so that she could enjoy the party as well.  That worked out really well because my DS got to hang with Sara’s daughter and play with their gameboys with a game they both had.  They had a good time and so did the adults.

Sunday was spent seeing the things that we had missed on Saturday.  I finally made it into the barn that had all of the wheels and tried out several Schacht wheels, and Kromski wheel and and couple of other ones and have decided, based on what I have tried that I really, really want a Matchless.  I was able to sit down at that one and just spin and actually make yarn.  I tried the Joy and all I got was junk.  I fought with a couple of other ones and finally came back to the matchless because I really liked it.  A wheel wasn’t in the budget or the plans for the weekend, and I don’t think I could have talked DH into it in any way, but it’s something to save for.

I did buy a Golding Ring spindle and was able to finally spin on a spindle.  I guess that the other spindles that I have purchased, while gorgeous and nice, just weren’t the right weight for the type of spinning that I can do right now.  I will probably graduate up to them in the future, but for now, I can use my Golding and love it.  I bought some of the loudest pink and green (we’re talking acid colors here) to play with and I figure if I get anything that is worth while, I will ply it together for something really wild.

We are waiting to pick up our second load that we have booked.  We should have picked it up before 3 p.m. this afternoon, but because of a comedy of errors (the insurance fax got lost, too many people were at lunch for too long, etc) we didn’t get the paperwork until almost 2:30 and then we had to drive 50 miles to get to it, so we now have to wait until the morning.  When we get this picked up, we will be on our way to Billings, MT with a load of plastic pipe.  Let’s see what we can get out of that area…;-D

2 thoughts on “Secret pal Twelve

  1. Hello Lynda! I’m so sorry you had a negative experience with the last secret pal exchange. I promise to spoil you like a princess! I love secret pal exchanges! Looking forward to playing!

    Your Secret Pal

Leave a Reply

