In the last two weeks

there hasn’t been a whole lot going on. I’ve been knitting and actually have completed several things that were in the last post. I just don’t have any pictures of the completed items. Either the weather has been too bad to take pictures outside, or we’ve been on the move more than allows for picture taking.

We were home the first week of March because my husband’s mother died and we needed to attend the viewing and the funeral. His brother had called about a week before she died and said that the doctor’s didn’t give her much time and so we made an effort to stay on the East Coast so that we could be around when she passed away and we actually were.

The viewing was interesting. I haven’t been to very many funerals and viewings (thank God) so I didn’t really know what to think. DH’s younger brother, wife and oldest son were at the funeral home when we got there. There were a few people that came through over the course of the evening and then everyone went home, or at least, back to the hotel room for us. DH’s two oldest sons had come up from Virginia Beach and met us at the hotel because they were too late for the viewing. We won’t ever do that again…DH’s middle son snores like a buzz saw and none of the rest of us got any sleep. Now I know that I snore, and DH snores, so does DH’s oldest son, but FPS his middle son put us all to shame in that department. My husband’s oldest was sleeping on the same bed with his brother and he said it was awful. Every time his brother started to snore, the whole bed shook and woke him up, so by about 0600 he was up and getting ready for the day. When I asked the middle one how his wife sleeps with him, he said she uses earplugs, and I believe it.

The funeral the next day was short and then there wasn’t a graveside service because the cemetery is so hilly that they have a place where they put the casket and chairs and everything and have an outdoor service and then when the family is gone, they bury the casket in the plot and then you come back a couple of weeks later and the stone is replaced and the grave is ready for visitors.

I will say, the cemetery in Rockville, MD, Park Lawn is gorgeous. It reminds me of the descriptions of places from the 19th century where people picnicked in the cemeteries, not out of disrespect, but because they were using the park like settings and visiting their dearly departed at the same time. It is a pretty cemetery and DH’s parents have a nice plot.

We were then invited back to the church that DH’s family had attended for years for lunch and we got to visit with DH’s older brother and nephew, who we haven’t seen in 6 or 7 years. His brother had come down for just the funeral because his wife had just had a double or triple bypass and he couldn’t leave her for long. DH has a bad memory, and because we don’t stay in close contact, he had forgotten that his nephew had two daughters that were older than our youngest. It was kind of funny to watch.

Anyway, I won’t say a good time was had by all, but it was nice to see some of the family that we hadn’t seen in a while.

After that was over, we went back to my sister’s house and did fun things like clean up the truck some, look for loads, and get ready for leaving. I found us a load that left out of PA and went to southern CA. It was supposed to be a 20,000 # load and ended up being 40,000# because they were trying to ship as much for as little as they could.

We left PA and went out the turnpike and into Ohio. We wanted to get as many miles as we could, so we headed out through Ohio and were trying to get at least into Indiana, but this was the weekend that that great big blizzard hit Ohio and we were in the thick of it. The weather was cold and rainy until we got about 75 miles into Ohio and then the snow started and oh, my was it coming down. The interstate had been closed for hours because of multiple accidents and we got through just as they had finished cleaning up the mess. We made it to the Ohio/Indiana line to a truck stop and parked for the night. When we got up in the morning, there was about 8-12 inches of snow on the parking lot and the roads in Ohio were closed to all traffic and the ones in Indiana were closed to all but necessary travel…we deemed our travel as necessary and left the truck stop about noon heading west. The roads were nasty for about 100 miles, but before we got to Indianapolis, they were dry and there was nothing to worry about. The rest of the trip was uneventful, until we got to the Arizona/California border and DH got a ticket in the scale house for not closing up his rear axle because they had loaded too much on the rear of the trailer and we were overweight with the axle closed, but not with it open. The officer in the scale house could have gotten us for an overweight fine, but he took pity on us and because we weren’t going very far, he let us go make our delivery. We’ll find out in a couple three weeks how much the fine is for over length when DH calls and they tell him what the fine is.

I got a touch of food poisoning somewhere along the way, and by the time we got our load delivered, I was feeling like death warmed over. I couldn’t even stomach a grilled cheese sandwich and spent the day sleeping. By evening, I was better and the next day, I was fine, but I really hate that. I don’t know what it was, so I don’t know what to avoid.

We are on our way back to Ohio with a load. Some company bought a bunch of equipment that they are either going to refurbish, or use as is. It’s some kind of grinding equipment used for recycling, and there are pieces of all kinds of equipment that keep falling out of the machines and onto the deck of our trailer. We have found parts of computers, large nuts, washers, and bolts, various bits of glass and plastic, and various other bits.

We stopped in Flagstaff, AZ on the way out, and right near Little America Hotel and truck stop, there is a restaurant called Black Barts Steak House. We decided to eat dinner there, because we have wanted to for quite a while, and boy are we glad we did. The steaks were very good, but the entertainment was first rate. It’s kind of a dinner show. All of the wait staff is part of the music program at Northern Arizona University and they have to audition to work here. They aren’t dressed up or anything, but they all have amazing voices. They mostly did old show tunes or even newer show tunes, in rotation, but they chose music based on their voices and their personality. There was one young man whose voice was just vibrant, I guess. He blew us away. There was another young man that was quite the showman. His voice was excellent as well, but he also had a tremendous personality and it came through in the music with his facial expressions and demeanor. It ended up being a little bit pricey, but the food was great, and the entertainment was worth every penny.

Now on to something a little less frivolous….

I know that everyone has heard of the devastation in Greensburg, KS. As we were heading down to California, and again on the way back to Ohio, we passed through this little town. The first time we were going through, I was looking, but had missed the sign for where we were. I was pointing out the evidence of a tornado to DH and then it dawned on me where we were…Greensburg. I don’t even have words for the amount of stuff that is just gone, evidenced by the empty foundations, the large piles of rubble, the broken trees and the presence of temporary buildings. they have a tremendous spirit, and there are signs every where that state “We WILL Rebuild”, but my goodness, there is so much to replace. They have made a good start. There are several new modular homes where homes used to stand, business that weren’t damaged are open and doing a good business, and it is just unbelievable how a tornado does it’s work.

If you look at the town, you can kind of tell what path the tornado took by the things that are gone and what things are still standing. There is a huge old building right in the middle of town that looks like it came through without a scratch. 100 yards away, a whole row of brick buildings is rubble, except for one. There is one lone building in a line of connected brick buildings that is still standing. Huge old trees are just broken up and probably won’t leaf again this year. They are still standing, but all of the large branches are gone and I don’t know if there is anything for the leaves to come out on. They look like rows and rows of skeleton trees that lined the streets and made this one of those picturesque little farming communities that scatter the mid west.

I did not take any pictures. It just kind of felt like an intrusion, some how. I told my husband that I didn’t feel like I could take any pictures, but I could blog about what we saw. He kind of agreed with me.

Now on to the knitting.

I have gotten the Baby Surprize jacket done, except for 6 rows of knitting and the casting off. It turned out pretty cool, although it took me until nearly the end to figure out how it was going to make into a jacket. Once I got enough rows done that it had all of the parts, I had an “Aha!!!” moment and it just went together the way that it was supposed to.

I finished the baby socks that were pictured in the last post. They are just as cute as can be and I will have to take a picture of all of the baby socks that I have knit for the grand baby before I send them off.

My Mom’s socks are not completed yet. I finished one sock and the other one is almost finished, but I haven’t had the time to wind the yarn that I got in a trade to finish it. I then got sidetracked and am working on the first sock for sock madness and helping to moderate the SKP2008 board and it’s taking up all my time. I need to do some paperwork for SKP and I need to finish the first socks for Sock madness so that I’m not eliminated on the first sock and I need to knit a couple of other baby things and I need to stay off the computer if I am going to get all this knitting done. But I need to be on the computer to do the things I need to do on the computer…see my conundrum? How to do all that I need to do and all I want to do?

I finished the dog’s sweater just in time for her to wear it in that blizzard I told you about, but I don’t have a picture of it on her. I will try to do that in a couple of days and come back and post all of the things that I have done and started.

I think that I am out of things to say, so I will close until next time.

6 thoughts on “In the last two weeks

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Stacey Derbinshire

  2. I have visited this site on many an occasion now but this post is the 1st one that I have ever commented on.

    Congratulations on such a fine article and site I have found it very helpful and informative – I only wish that there were more out there like this one.

    I never leave empty handed, sometimes I may even be a little disappointed that I may not agree with a post or reply that has been made. But hey! that is life and if every one agreed on the same thing what a boring old world we would live in.

    Keep up the good work and cheers.

  3. The tornado in Greensburg, KS sounds very devastating indeed. Permanent modular buildings might be a good way to quickly rebuild. They can be produced and delivered in half the time since they are built in a factory.

    Also, they are usually made with strong steel frames so that they can be stacked upon one another and also so that they can take the high speed transit from the factory to the buildings site. This added strength may be what is needed to withstand future disasters.

    I understand why you were unable to take pictures. Sometimes it just doesn’t feel right.

  4. Well if the middle son snores loud enough for his wife to wear ear plugs, you might want to suggest to her that she make him go to the doctors ASAP. If he is snoring that loud, he needs to be checked for sleep apena. Most people who snore as adults have sleep apena. And when you do, you are not getting enough oxygen when you are sleeping. And sometimes it is that your tonsils are too big. My brother and nephew snore. But my nephew’s was loud enough to keep everyone awake. My SIL took him to the doctor’s and after several tests the doctor figured out that his tonsils were too big. The nephew had his tonsils taken out and while he still snores some, it is much much quieter and he feels better and more rested.

    And I head and saw photos of the blizzard you were in. I am happy that you were able to get out of it. I hope the fine isn’t too big.

  5. My sympathies to your family for the death of your husband’s mother.

    I am glad that you made it safely through the snow on your trip.

Leave a Reply

