Heading Home for Christmas

We have a load that takes us within about 125 miles of home. It’s a load that I found, and they booked it for us, so it’s all good. We did have to go over 300 miles to pick it up, but that was after we had gotten a load booked that picked up on Friday afternoon, but after we confirmed that we were going to get it, I talked to the lady at the shipper and she said she wouldn’t load us because they had gotten backed up and she couldn’t justify keeping her guys any longer on overtime. That’s ok, the one we’re on works better. If we had taken the other one, we would have ended up in Oklahoma City yesterday and then would have had to finagle a load that worked us toward home.

We were in Salt Lake City, UT for the weekend and spent it in the Sapp Brother’s Truck stop. I spent Saturday afternoon getting my hair colored and it is now RED. It’s not a great picture, DH was getting creative, but it shows the red. The problem with living in a truck, is that sometimes you have to use the services in the truck stop and while I really appreciate them, sometimes you have to go with something that wasn’t what you had envisioned. My hair hasn’t been colored since May, when we were getting ready for my stepson’s wedding. Then, we were on the west coast and I got my hair streaked, which I love. It had grown out quite a lot, and I had very dark roots and the rest of it was very light brown and blond. I wanted to go all one color and ended up with Auburn (a mixture of light and dark) because that is what the hairdresser had. It’s very different when I look in the mirror now, and I think DH likes it, but he wont commit. The best I get out of him is that “it doesn’t look bad”. So is that good or just not bad?

We were in Salt Lake for the weekend and the most we did was install a new radio in our truck. It was very cold and we hooked up to Idleaire so that we didn’t have to idle and we had movies and heat, although the rear of our truck was still cold and we had to be under blankets to watch television. We rented the new 3:10 to Yuma with Russell Crowe. It was an interesting movie, rather dark, but well acted. I chose that one, instead of Elizabeth or Becoming Jane because I thought we would probably watch another one and because DH has been wanting to see it. We didn’t rent any more, but I did get to watch a bunch of HGTV, which I like while DH installed the radio in the truck. DS wasn’t happy about the HGTV, but he had been watching Encore Westerns and he got to choose that, so it was my turn.

I finally got some pictures to share with you. We had to go west of Salt Lake and pick up our load yesterday. The scenery out there was gorgeous and snow covered, but definitely camera worthy. You be the judge:

We went down a valley that led to Dugway Proving Ground. That place is in the middle of no where. You drive about 40 miles west of Salt lake and then turn south on UT 196. The road leads to the military installation and that’s all. We picked up a hummer and trailer that are going to Aberdeen Proving Ground in Maryland.

This is what our truck looks like with this load on, after we had the truck washed.  Do you know what the road salt does to our truck?  It makes it look horrible, although the damage that was done to the front end doesn’t help it look much better and you can see in that picture the bend in the bumper from where that guy hit us when we were in Seattle a couple weeks ago.

The road from NO WHERE This is the road that led out of Dugway.  It was 30 some miles from I-80 down to the main gate of the installation.  As we were coming back out, I took these pictures and it really was this straight and it did lead back to civilization.

Can you imagine living in a building this small?  Ruins like these are scattered all over the west.  These were the kinds of buildings that people that were coming out west to homestead were putting up because they had to have something that they could live in to “prove up” on their claim, but usually built something a little bigger and more livable when they had gotten their claim “proven”.

When we got back out on I-80, one of the first things we saw was this:

There are piles and piles of salt in at least two different companies and I am assuming that it, or most of it, comes from evaporation from the Great Salt Lake, but I could be wrong.  On the left you can see the Morton salt girl and now you know where at least some of the salt used in the US comes from.

I was tagged by Deborah to complete a Christmas meme.  I thought it was funny that she chose me because I might be having Christmas on a semi.  I guess it would seem a little strange to others, but it’s just my life.  So anyway, here goes:

The rules are as follows:

  • Link to the person who tagged you
  • Tag three random people at the end of your post and include links to their blogs
  • Let each person know they’ve been tagged by leaving a comment on their blogs

Here are the questions (feel free to substitute the winter holiday of your choice & to add questions):

  1. What was the best Christmas present you got as a kid? The most memorable thing I ever got was a pair of pajamas with some kind of feathery/fuzzy stuff around the bottom of the legs and the neckline.  The best thing was, gosh, probably the Barbie that my Granny made a wedding dress for.
  2. What was the best Christmas present you got as an adult? A pair of Garnet earrings that DH surprised me with or else the birth of my oldest son, two days after Christmas.
  3. What’s your favorite Christmas carol? Away in a Manger
  4. How long can you stand to listen to Christmas music before you break? A lot longer than DH can, and I sing along as well.
  5. How many Christmas albums do you own? Probably about 8 or 10
  6. Did you ever go caroling as a kid? I used to go with the choir with school and also we went with the church youth group.
  7. Would you willingly eat fruitcake? My feelings about fruitcake were summed up by Bill Engval, I think in the song, Fruitcake Makes me Puke
  8. Do you own any Christmas sweaters? I do have a sweatshirt with something Christmas related on it, but I think it’s packed away.
  9. Do you own any Christmas jewelry? What? I own some red Christmas ball earrings
  10. Do you wear them? I do wear them
  11. Did your family have any Christmas traditions? Like what? We have a lot of Christmas traditions…oyster stew on Christmas eve, taking most of the day to open presents on Christmas, everyone being together.
  12. Do you buy Christmas presents for your pets? If I can talk DH into it.  She needs a new squeaky soft toy at least once a year.
  13. What’s your favorite Christmas cookie? I like decorated sugar cookies
  14. What’s your favorite Christmas candy? Chocolate
  15. What’s your stocking look like? the ones we use were sewn by my sister and they will stay at her house.  When we get our how built, I plan on knitting or felting some for us.
  16. How do you feel about the “Steal from Your Neighbor” Christmas present game (the one where people pick gifts from a pile, but others get to steal it)? At a large party where most of the gifts are “White Elephant” I think it’s fun.  Other than that, nope…don’t like it.
  17. What is the oldest ornament on your tree? I inherited a bunch of ornaments that DH kids made when they were little, so some of those are probably 20 years old, but I do have some that I got from my Mom that were bought for me when I was little.
  18. Real or artificial? Depends on the use.  In the truck we have a tiny artificial, but I love the smell of a real one for the house, although we do own an artificial from when DS was little that actually cost less than a real one would have.
  19. How do you feel about Christmas letters? I think they are kind of neat, but I don’t think that we do anything that is interesting enough to write about.
  20. Do you have Christmas decorations or lights outside your house? What are they? We do hang a wreath made from a lasso on the front of our truck that has a great big bunch of jingle bells on it.
  21. How far would you drive to see Christmas lights? I would drive quite a ways to see lights.
  22. Are you a fan of tasteful or tacky? I like tasteful a lot, but tend to end up with a lot of tacky.

23. Annie added this one: Do you have any Christmas collections? I have an inherited collection of Santa’s and a small collection of  christmas bears.

24.  Do you travel to celebrate Christmas?  We do right now, but when we build our house, the furthest we will travel is the 12 miles up to my parents house, unless they are out of town.

I tag Kathy, Mia and Betharoopie for this Christmas fun.  Have at it girls!

5 thoughts on “Heading Home for Christmas

  1. hmmmm, so ya tagged me, gotta wait until I can sit and contemplate…….. Red is good, I have done red, currently doing deep-dark brown. Have a save drive home! Hey, doesn’t all that salt dissolve when it rains?

  2. Hey hon, very busy but it’s the final weekend before the last holiday!!! Can’t believe how hard the last 6 weeks have been. I did order the harmony needles! Will get back to you later (on my way out to work), but wanted to say Happy New Year!!!!!!
    Hugs!

  3. Hey, Lynda,
    Hope you had a nice holiday, and am wishing you a happy, healthy New Year! We do need to go shopping together! I love Anne’s stuff – isn’t she brilliantly creative? I think it might be a little advanced for me, but her work is so beautiful.
    Like the hair, btw!
    I’ve missed talking to you!

Leave a Reply

