It’s a leeetle Icy

We’re on our way to make a delivery, although we really aren’t moving right now. We’re sitting in a little bitty truck stop about 80 miles from our delivery. We are in Iowa, and the freezing rain has begun. I will have to get up with DH when he gets up before the crack of dawn because he’s going to need some company if the roads are bad. Hopefully we won’t get the forcasted 1/4 inch of ice, up to 1/2 inch of sleet and the 2 to 5 inches of snow on top of the sleet and ice. Hopefully we are far enough north that it will be the snow of 5-8 inches instead. Somehow….I DON’T THINK SO! It’s already raining and the truck next to us has a coating of ice on his hood. Sound like fun? SO NOT FUN!!!  This is one of the few things that I don’t like about this job.  The bad weather is not my favorite.

I’ve been working on some stealth knitting using Cider Moon Glacier in the Bison color way. It’s a gift for my oldest son and it’s really not all that secret, cuz I don’t think he even knows I have a blog, but we’ll keep it quiet just the same. I’m also still working on the socks for my mom. Loving the yarn (Cider Moon Glacier in the June Carter color way) and the pattern of the socks, hating the heel. I’ll get through it, I just don’t like the slip stitch heels and the pattern of Wendy’s, from Wendy Knits that I’m using, calls for it. I’m using the Loopy Laces pattern that Wendy designed and the pattern is loverly.

I am also still working on the scarf for DH using Knit Picks Gloss.  It’s in a chocolate brown and tan, and I really need to get it done, although it’s some smaller than it should be, cuz, ummmm, I didn’t consider yarn and used what I wanted to and not what it called for and I didn’t swatch and well, it’s purty!

I guess if I am going to be called upon to get up at 0’dark thirty, I better go to bed.  Mayhap I shall have some pictures for you tomorrow.  I will try to get some of the knitting, or the ice or something.

This doesn’t bode well….a salt truck/snow plow just left to hit the roads.  At least they are out and taking care of it as it happens.

5 thoughts on “It’s a leeetle Icy

  1. Just keep knitting. The ice is here and there is nothing that can be done about it. I hate ice. Snow is much better even though I will not drive in it either. There are too many idiots on the roads. The law in Maryland requires you to clean your whole car but there are too many people who just make a peep hole in the front windshield and get go out and drive. I will walk thank you.

    I hope you get the done.

  2. I wish I could send you some of the almost 80 F weather we’ve been having! Just do take it easy out there on the roads. Even though the plows and salt trucks may be out there, there’s no telling if they’ll be able to keep ahead of the conditions.

  3. Be careful out there. It’s pouring snow in southwest VA and the roads were slick when we came from church services at noon. We’re headed back out for our Christmas church play and gathering and it’s still pouring, cold, icy…brrrrr, it’s *winter*!

  4. I’m just never sure if my comments are actually submitted.

    Be safe; it’s finally winter and that means cold, snow, ice, etc. It rained all night then started snowing this morning. Winds are still howling, still snowing and roads are icy here in southwest VA.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

