We’re in Chicago

and baby it’s cold!!! At least it wasn’t snowing today and we actually got our load off and to the next one where we got to load indoors.

On Monday we were in Seattle during all of the storms that you’ve been hearing about. It was soggy and miserable for unloading. My poor hubby stood outside in the pouring rain untarping and unloading for almost 6 hours. I do believe there was a bit of incompetence on the part of the consignee, but that’s the life we live.

On Sunday night, we got to the delivery and parked in the parking lot that they have just for that purpose. We wanted to be there bright and early because we had already been pre-planned on a load out of Seattle and we wanted to get unloaded early so that we could pick up early and “get out of Dodge”. Well we parked in the parking lot behind another truck. My DH is very conscious about distance, and he was 35 to 50 feet behind this other truck. We went about doing the things that we need to do to get ready for bed and DH was in the back of the truck and I was sitting in the front on the computer when he started yelling at me to “LOOK! LOOK! LOOK!” I looked out the window and couldn’t see anything (it was dark out) and then looked again and this truck was backing up at us at a relatively high rate of speed. I immediately grabbed the air horn cord and blew it long and loud, but the driver of the other truck backed right into us. DH was NOT happy! Not only that, the trailer did $1800 worth of damage to the front of our truck. Wanna see the gory details? What you see below is the damage that was done to the grill and the light. He also did some damage to our bumper (which is almost half of the cost of repairs).
Damage to truck

See how the license plate holder is all bent out and not lying flat? There is corresponding damage to the bumper. And then, as we were coming across Montana the other day, DH hit a great big tumble weed in the road and knocked one of the round lights out of the bumper, so our poor truck just looks pitiful. For a 2001 truck, she used to look pretty good, and she will again, when we have the repairs done after getting the money from the insurance company.

We have been through Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Arizona, Utah, California, Oregon, Washington, Montana, South Dakota, Minnesota, Iowa and Illinois since the last time I posted. I took some wonderful pictures of Monument Valley, the snow on Monarch pass as we were headed home, some beautiful sunset cloud pictures in Utah, and some stunningly gorgeous pictures of the mountains in Montana (oh and the black at the bottom of this picture is my husband’s grody cowboy hat that sits on his dash).

One of the things that we really like about coming across Montana is the places that we can stop to eat. We kind of plan our stops on whether we want to stop at Wheat, MT or maybe in Bonner at the River City Grill. It all depends on what time of day it is and what meal we are looking for. If you click on the link for Wheat Montana, you will be able to read about a family business that has grown while still keeping the local flavor and the ideals that they started with. If you read the link for River City Grill, you will get a little bit of info and one really bad review. The person that wrote the review didn’t eat at the same restaurant that we eat at. We have never had a bad meal there, ever. Anyway, These are two places that, if you are ever in Montana going across I-90, that I recommend.

We came through Mitchell, SD yesterday and were able to stop at Cabela’s and finish a good chunk of our Christmas shopping. The worst part is that DH and I both ended up with gifts that we know about, but then again, that is normal for us. In all of the years that we’ve been on the truck, I don’t think that we have been able to surprise each other very often because we are constantly in each other’s hip pockets. It makes it rather hard to surprise ds as well, although this year I have done a much better job of it than in years past.

On the Christmas theme, I was chatting with a friend, whose blog you should read, and Mia told me I should take pictures of different Christmas light displays as we drive across the country. I thought that would be a fun idea and had decided that I was going to start tonight. We went into make a pickup in Marseilles, IL and saw a house that was decked out. They had a blow up santa and snowman on their deck and the whole yard was decorated with lights. I thought it would be a fitting start to my blogging of Christmas lights. You know what? Those people had the gall to turn out their lights. We came back out the way we had gone in just so I could take a picture of the the lights and they had the nerve to turn them off. I jested that I should go and knock on the door and have them turn them back on, but that would be as wrong as them not leaving their lights on for people to photograph. It would have worked out well too because DH could drive slow or stop so that I could take a non blurry picture, but alas, the lights were out.

If you want to look at the rest of the pictures that go with the ones above, you can find them here.

I’ll be back shortly…I promise.

One thought on “We’re in Chicago

  1. I hope you got the insurance info on that bad truck driver. He didn’t even check to see what he was doing obviously. Some people just shouldn’t have a license to drive a lawn mower!!!

    I am sure that you will get more photo ops soon.

Leave a Reply

