I was doing so well

and then I decided that I can’t blog everyday…my life is just not that interesting and to blog just for the sake of blogging is not what I want to do.  So anyway, if I can keep up a pretty reasonable schedule of blogging I will be happy and the fact that I have blogged 15 times this month is pretty good.

We’ve been working on our house, and until yesterday and today, you really couldn’t see the progress because the changes were just little and not very noticeable.  But yesterday we started hanging the floor joists and now you can see some real progress:The floor will sit on top of these and then we’ll have a deck to stand on.  After we get all 47 of them hung we’ll start putting the sub-floor down and then we can take the wall up another 5 feet.

We have a Jack Russel Terrier that I’ve shown before.  One of her character traits is that she is nosy…she has to check everything out.  We were working on the joists and all of a sudden she had walked the beam and jumped up on the joists to see what they were:Now this is something that you would expect from a cat, not a dog because dog’s don’t usually have this type of balance, but here she is.  There is about 14 inches between each of these boards.  She also walks the walls of the house:  and the beams inside the house:

To be fair, I had called her to come to me and that was the only way to get to where I was, but still, she jumps the walls and gets on the beams and walks to where she wants to.

I’ve been helping on the house and even have a hammer of my own…we had to color code them so that we knew who’s was whose…think the boys will use mine?Nope…me either!

We got a picture of a gorgeous sunset tonight and the boy went out and took several pictures of it:

and here’s another one:

I had posted about the Medano Fire and here is a picture of the smoke cloud that we can see sometimes from our house…this one was taken on June 20th, but the link will take you to the current info about it:One of the effects of having a wild fire burning so close to your town is that a bunch of wild land fire crews move in to fight it.  We were having breakfast last Sunday and some people came into the restaurant we were eating at and asked if they would feed up to 130 fire fighters that night for dinner.  Now this is a pretty small establishment and there is usually one waitress and a cook on duty.  There is no way that two people could do that, so DH and I volunteered to come in and help with the serving and dishes.  DH was a sport and spent the whole night washing dishes and we ended up serving 87 dinners to the fire crews.  I bussed tables, filled pitchers, drinks and etc.

Look what my friend Sarah of Perfect Day Yarns dyed for me:  

I asked for a solid or semi-solid brown to complement another of her yarns called Stout Old Ivy to knit one of Wendy’s Patterns, Norwegian Rose Socks.  I love that she named it Mother Trucker cuz it was for me…I LOVE Sarah!!!!!!  Go buy Yarn from her…her cashprose is yummy, as is all of her yarn.

I also was able to get a skein of Wollmeise from a destash:

Makes you want to like the screen, huh?

6 thoughts on “I was doing so well

  1. I love that you’re helping to build your house – it’s so freaking awesome! It’ll make the house even better. :) I can’t wait to come and visit you when it’s done.

    You know I covet that mother trucker skein too, lol!

  2. Are you sure your dog isn’t a rat terrier instead of a Jack Russell? LOL She sure looks and acts like our little rat girl except ours climbs trees, not houses.

  3. Your fur baby looks like my Jack Russell Macy. Macy is nosy too and has to help with everything we do. It’s like she doesn’t think we can manage a task without her help. Jack Russells are just the best dogs in the world!

    Bless you for your kindness to the firefighters!! Our son is a firefighter and I know how good it makes him and his crew feel to be appreciated that way.

Leave a Reply

