Another Unconscious Mutterings and other stuffs

To begin with, I’ll put in the unconscious mutterings, and as always it links back to Claudia’s Blog

  1. Burrito :: Bean
  2. Spike ::collar
  3. Tougher ::than nails
  4. Mock ::Tee
  5. Slurp ::soup
  6. Knock ::on wood
  7. Conference ::call
  8. Madness ::my life
  9. Minds ::great
  10. Connection ::bad

I have been knitting and actually turning out some things.  I am doing the Knit a longs that go with the Spring Fling at the Loopy Ewe again this year and so far I have done for January, Anne Hanson’s Ivy Vines Cowl  knit in Tempted’s Luxe Grrl yarn in the Bonjour colorway that was part of a club kit. I love it alot and didn’t think that I would like cowls, but I find that they are wonderful when the wind is blowing and you don’t want to mess with a scarf.

For February, I knit my Stacy Shawl kit that was a shawl pattern designed by Wendy Johnson of Wendy Knits with more of Tempted’s Luxe Grrl.  Stacy was selling these as a kit with the yarn and the pattern in her etsy shop.

Mine is showing on snow on the trailer and it’s unblocked because I really don’t have any way to block things on the truck.  Here’s a closeup of the pattern in the shawl:

For March, I knit Jarod Flood’s Turn A Square Hat.  It was a fun quick knit.  I used Cascade 220 and a skein of Poem’s yarn that mimics Noro.  Better price and not so much vegetable matter.  DS has decided that this is his hat, hence the picture on his head.  There are stripes of a rusty color and a green, but then are further down on the hat and can’t be seen from this vantage point.  I LOVE how this makes a square at the top of the hat.

I signed up for Sock Madness again this year.  This is a competition where you are given a sock pattern and then everyone knits the same pattern in the yarn of their choice just as fast as they can.  The last two years, I have made it to the 3rd sock.  This year, I thought I wasn’t going to make it through the first sock.  It’s called “Simple Side to Side sock” and while the components themselves are simple, the overall sock isn’t so much.  I did get through it and in plenty of time, but I hope that doesn’t bode ill for the rest of the patterns if this one was the easiest.   Here’s my finished pair on DS’s feet as they don’t fit me, and while his feet are longer than mine, they are narrower, so they fit:

Knit out of Koigu in some blue color on US 1 (2.25mm) circs.  Started on March 10th, finished on March 18th.  I don’t like the afterthought heel that is on these sock, they never fit me and I don’t know how to make them so that they do.

I also joined and purchased the Evenstar KAL from Susan Pandorf.  Her shawls and stoles are amazing.  If you don’t know who she is, She is Sunflower designs and her blog can be found here.  This is the first in a series design, and it’s a rather large circular shawl that is set up as a mystery knit a long.  Every two weeks we are sent a portion of the pattern and then we knit it.  It started from the center with a rather fiddly start, but so far, I am loving it.  Susan’s designs are amazing and I have been wanting to knit something of her’s for quite some time, but I have been intimidated by lace, so I hadn’t.  I purchased Claudia Handpaints yarn in her silk thread and it’s gorgeous, but it’s slippery as all get out.  I wish that I had purchased something a little less slippery and something with wool content.  I haven’t taken any pictures of it yet, although I should, but we have finished 2 clues, I have one to work, and clue 4 will be out on Friday.

One of the things that drew me to this was the fact that Susan was donating a portion of the proceeds from every pattern sold to Doctor’s Without Borders for Haiti relief.  This is one of those organizations that does good work and needs support.  If you are looking for somewhere to make a charitable donation to, this is a good one.

Finally, at the end of February, we had a load that took us to California.  We delivered just before Stitches West was getting ready to start, so I told DH, if I could swing it, I was going to find us a load that went north and we were going to stitches.  I did, and we were able to go to stitches market for about 3 hours on Saturday afternoon.  I didn’t buy a whole lot, but I did come away with some Signature needles, one set of circs (LOVE THEM) and a set of dpn’s in a size 1 (2.25 mm)  Love them as well, and I don’t usually use dpn’s, but I have been using these.

I did pick up a sweater’s worth of worsted weight yarn from Tess Yarns…the color was so yummy and they had a pattern that I fell in love with so DH, ever the enabler, told me to “do eeetttt!”

I’ll post some pictures of the yarn next time.

One thought on “Another Unconscious Mutterings and other stuffs

Leave a Reply

